View all items from Fine Art, Décor, Sterling & Furniture sale

"Ordeal of the Union" Complete Series and More Civil War History Books

Item Details

Title and Author/Editor The Organized War to Victory, 1864–1865 (Allan Nevins), Fruits of Manifest Destiny, 1847–1852 (Allan Nevins), Richmond Redeemed: The Siege at Petersburg (Richard J. Sommers; foreword by Frank E. Vandiver), A House Dividing, 1852–1857 (Allan Nevins), The Lost Cause: The Standard Southern History of the War of the Confederates (E. A. Pollard), Douglas, Buchanan, and Party Chaos, 1857–1859 (Allan Nevins), Prologue to Civil War, 1859–1861 (Allan Nevins), The Improvised War, 1861–1862 (Allan Nevins), War Becomes Revolution, 1862–1863 (Allan Nevins), The Organized War, 1863–1864 (Allan Nevins)
Genre History, Military, War
Binding Cloth on board, One quarter cloth with paper boards
Dust Jacket Yes
Publisher or Printer Bonanza Books, Charles Scribner’s Sons, Doubleday & Company
Publication Year 1973, 1960, 1971, 1981, 1989
Period Mid to Late 20th Century, Vintage
Place of Publication New York, Garden City, NY
Edition Statement Early Printing, Book Club Edition
Language English
Complete Set Yes
Volumes I–VIII (Nevins)
Number of Books 10


- conditions vary; shaken but generally tight bindings; loose hinges; rubbing, fraying, discoloration, and wear to boards; bumped spines and corners; page toning and scattered foxing; some interior markings to endpapers; rubbing, discoloration, chips, and wear to dust jackets.


2.25" W x 9.25" H x 6.25" D

- measures The Lost Cause.

Item #


Terms & Conditions

Other Items You Might Like

Full-service selling solutions for home or business-minded consignors.

Learn More